Newcastle have announced their retained list for the 2014/15 season and as a result, have confirmed that nine players have left the Club.

Shola Ameobi is the biggest name to leave, while Dan Gosling and Conor Newton have already signed for Bournemouth and Rotherham United respectively.

Loic Remy and Luuk de Jong have returned to their parent clubs after loan spells at St James’ Park and youngsters Brandon Miele, Jonathan Mitchell, Steven Logan and Michael Richardson have all been released.

Ameobi leaves Newcastle after 14 years in the first team and will try to use the World Cup in the summer as a springboard to find a new club.

Speaking about Ameobi’s incredible service, Newcastle manager Alan Pardew told the club’s official website: “Such loyalty and commitment in the modern game is rare and Shola was not just a great player on the pitch but a key figure off it too.

“He is a leader of men, a great role model for our younger players and I wish him well for the remainder of his career.”

Remy and De Jong have returned to Queens Park Rangers and Borussia Moenchengladbach respectively and their future remains uncertain. Remy will almost certainly leave Loftus Road this summer, with Arsenal and Liverpool interested in his services.

De Jong – who failed to score in his time on Tyneside – returns to Germany where he is way down the pecking order at his parent club. Newcastle could still be interested in securing the Dutchman on a permanent basis but Moenchengladbach’s asking price is currently too high.