Tim Krul’s dreams of becoming a World Cup winner will have to wait at least another four years after the Netherlands lost a penalty shootout in the semi-final against Argentina.

Unlike the quarter-final victory against Costa Rica, Holland manager Louis van Gaal did not sub the Newcastle goalkeeper on for the spot kicks, instead sticking with Jasper Cillessen – who continued his woeful record of never saving a penalty kick in his professional career.

Van Gaal has since revealed that two of his players refused to take the first penalty for their nation, which left Ron Vlaar as the only willing candidate. The Aston Villa defender was denied by Sergio Romero and Argentina went ahead as Lionel Messi rolled his effort past Cillessen.

Arjen Robben then scored before Romero pulled off a stunning save from Wesley Sneijder and Maxi Rodriguez slammed home the winning penalty as the South Americans booked their place in the final against Germany.

Krul may be handed his first start of the competition in the third-place playoff game between Holland and Brazil on Saturday night before returning to Newcastle for pre-season preparations later this month.